Epidemiology

Epidemiology examines the statistical distribution of diseases, physiological variables and social after-effects of diseases within population groups, in consideration of influencing factors. Thus, measures to control and influence health problems can be taken.

Monitor

Reagenzglas

Springer OP

Assessment of Living Circumstances
The collected epidemiological data is used for compiling statistics on mortality, morbidity and other health parameters. Epidemiologic studies are predominantly observational studies. Unlike with clinical trials, experiments are not carried out under unaltered general conditions, but instead, participants’ living circumstances are captured in questionnaires. Furthermore, certain studies allow conclusions whether participants show a higher risk for disease if they are exposed to a presumably harmful exposure.

Compliance with Quality Standards
During epidemiologic examinations we ensure compliance with quality standards concerning data collection and evaluation. We provide for a proper sample group to be examined, as well as for programming the database for recruitment and scheduling. We are responsible for data management, that is to say for organising data capture, for the data concept, data maintenance and for integrating measured data into the study databases. For the evaluation of data acquired within the study, our statistical knowledge is required, as well as our experienced handling of statistical software and our ability to properly present the results.

Planning, Organisation and Coordination of Studies
In the field of medical documentation, we are working in the entire workflow of epidemiological studies, ranging from planning and organisation over implementation to evaluation. In order to work successfully, we are linking our expertise from the fields of documentation, medicine, statistics, epidemiology, surveys and data privacy with well-grounded knowledge of the latest information technologies.



Verantwortlich für den Inhalt:
Navigationspfeil Andrea Großer

Epidemiologie

Die Epidemiologie untersucht die Verteilung von Krankheiten, physiologischen Variablen und sozialen Krankheitsfolgen in Bevölkerungsgruppen unter Berücksichtigung beeinflussender Faktoren. Damit können Maßnahmen zur Kontrolle und Beeinflussung von Gesundheitsproblemen ergriffen werden.

Monitor

Reagenzglas

Springer OP

 

Erfassung von Lebenssituationen
Aus den gesammelten epidemiologischen Daten werden Statistiken zur Mortalität, Morbidität und weiteren Gesundheitsparametern erstellt. Epidemiologische Studien sind zumeist Beobachtungsstudien. Es werden keine Experimente wie bei klinischen Studien unter möglichst gleichen Rahmenbedingungen durchgeführt, sondern die Lebenssituationen von Menschen werden mit Fragebögen erfasst. Bestimmte Studien erlauben darüber hinaus Aussagen darüber, ob Personen ein erhöhtes Erkrankungsrisiko aufweisen, wenn sie einer vermutlich schädlichen Exposition ausgesetzt sind.

Einhaltung von Qualitätsstandards
Bei epidemiologischen Untersuchungen gewährleisten wir die Einhaltung von Qualitätsstandards bei der Datenerhebung und Auswertung. Wir sorgen für eine sachgerechte Ziehung des Untersuchungskollektivs und die Programmierung der Rekrutierungs- und der Terminverwaltungsdatenbank. Wir sind für das Data Management verantwortlich, das heißt für die Organisation der Datenerfassung, das Datenhaltungskonzept, die Datenpflege und die Integration von Messdaten in die Studien-Datenbanken. Bei der Auswertung der Studiendaten sind unser statistisches Wissen, der sichere Umgang mit Statistik-Software und die Fähigkeit zur sachgerechten Präsentation der Ergebnisse gefragt.

Planung, Organisation und Koordination von Studien
In der Medizinischen Dokumentation arbeiten wir im gesamten Ablauf der Planung, Organisation, Koordination, Durchführung und Auswertung epidemiologischer Studien. Um erfolgreich arbeiten zu können, verknüpfen wir unser Fachwissen aus den Bereichen Dokumentation, Medizin, Statistik, Epidemiologie, Studien und Datenschutz mit fundierten Kenntnissen modernster Informationstechnologien.



Verantwortlich für den Inhalt:
Navigationspfeil Andrea Großer